Academic Search Premier: This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Ancestry Library: Genealogical and historical information from census, military, church, vital, court, land and probate records, passenger lists and more. (In Library Use Only)
Brainfuse: LIVE one-on-one academic coaching, practice test center, and online resources to help you achieve your learning and career goals. Includes resources for GED, US citizenship test prep, resume writing, help with Microsoft Office, Excel, Powerpoint, and more.
Business Source Elite: This business database provides full text for over 1,000 business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985. More than 10,100 substantial company profiles from Datamonitor are also included. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Complimentary and Alternative Medicine: The sixth title in Salem’s well-received Salem Health series, Salem Health: Complementary & Alternative Medicine provides authoritative, essential information on complementary and alternative medicine in easy-to-understand language. The set was designed for general readers and offers a unique perspective on this growing and constantly changing field.
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present. ERIC’s mission is to provide a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information for educators, researchers, and the general public.
GreenFILE is a free research database that provides scholarly, government and general-interest sources covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and information about what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts.
Historical Encyclopedia of American Business: Online access to the Historical Encyclopedia of American Business, which examines nearly every facet of American business history. Published by Salem Press.
Job and Career Accelerator: Get detailed information on more than 1,100 occupations. Find careers that match your skills and interests. Access millions of current job and internship postings. Create professional resumes and cover letters, master interviewing and networking techniques, and more. Job & Career Accelerator is your guide to getting hired. You can also access online practice tests for GED and college entrance exams, brush up on basic skills, access resources to become a US citizen, or learn new software skills including Microsoft Office and other popular tools.
Kanopy: Access our new video streaming service which offers a broad selection of quality documentaries, feature films and training videos from producers including The Criterion Channel, The Great Courses, PBS, Music Box Films, Kino Lorber, First Run Features, BBC, and many more. Films can be streamed via teaneck.kanopy.com or the Kanopy mobile app. Library cardholders are entitled to ten checkouts per month and each checkout is active for a three day period. No overdue fees; items are automatically returned to the library at the end of the lending period. (Teaneck residents only)
Legal Information Reference Center: Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, Legal Information Reference Center contains more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation’s oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA): This free research database provides indexing and abstracting for key library and information science journals, books, research reports and more. It is EBSCO’s intention to provide access to this resource on a continual basis.
Literary Reference Center: A full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center contains full text for more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticisms, more than 253,000 author biographies (including more than 22,000 in-depth bios), more than 460 literary journals, more than 693,000 book reviews, nearly 78,000 classic and contemporary poems, more than 19,600 classic and contemporary short stories, more than 6,500 author interviews, more than 8,200 classic texts and much more.
Mango Languages: An online language learning system that teaches real conversation skills for practical communication. Through fun and engaging interactive lessons, Mango makes learning a new language fast, easy and incredibly effective. The system is completely web-based and remotely accessible, so you can learn anywhere you have an internet connection. Languages include Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more. English courses are available for non-English speakers. (Teaneck residents only)
MasterFILE Elite: Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,050 general reference publications with coverage dating as far back as 1984. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Elite also includes 52 full text reference books and an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps and flags.
Middle Search Plus: Provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
Military & Government Collection: Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission Practice Tests: These MVC practice tests feature questions just like those on the official written knowledge test or the test administered by the motorcycle training course. Practice tests include driving techniques, road signs, laws and regulations, and all commercial endorsements. This website even provides a question marathon in which you can test your knowledge to the highest degree and become fully prepared to ace the knowledge test.
New York Times: To access NYTimes within the library, visit nytimes.com/register. Note: you will need to register or log in with a personal account, using an email address and password of your own creation. For remote access, TPL cardholders can use a code which provides 24 hour access to the paper from any device. When prompted for a digital access code, use the following code: 7eb73b0b0cc5c32c. You will also need to register/create an account (see above) or login if you already have one. At the conclusion of the 24 hour period, you may reuse the same code to get another 24 hours of access. Code can be used repeatedly. (Teaneck residents only)
Newspapers.com: The largest online newspaper archive. 11,700+ newspapers from the 1700s–2000s and millions of additional pages added every month. Search historical newspapers from across the United States and beyond. Explore newspaper articles and clippings for help with genealogy, history and other research. (In Library Use Only)
NoveList: NoveList has been helping readers find their next favorite book for more than 20 years, and continues to develop innovative solutions for connecting readers, books, and libraries.
OpenDissertations: This open-access database is built to assist researchers in locating both historic and contemporary dissertations and theses. Created with the generous support of the H.W. Wilson Foundation and the Congregational Library & Archives in Boston, it incorporates EBSCO’s previously released American Doctoral Dissertations, and features additional dissertation metadata contributed by select colleges and universities from around the world. Providing researchers with citations to graduate research across a span of time, from the early 20th century to the present, this database will continue to grow through regular updates and new partnerships with graduate degree-granting institutions.
Points of View Reference Center: Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Primary Search: Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
PubMed Central: PubMed Central is a free digital repository that archives publicly accessible full-text scholarly articles that have been published within the biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Reference USA: the leading source for business and residential data in the United States. ReferenceUSA helps users of all kinds search for jobs, research U.S. businesses, create marketing and small business plans, locate specific people and more.
Referencia Latina: This full-text Spanish-language database covers a broad array of subjects inside and outside academia. It offers content from a variety of sources, including reference books, general interest magazines and health reports.
Regional Business News: This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Rosetta Stone: Founded in 1992, Rosetta Stone’s language division uses cloud-based solutions to help all types of learners read, write, and speak more than 30 languages.
Small Business Reference Center: This database offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as the necessary tools and instructions to address a wide-range of small business topics.
Teacher Reference Center: Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Value Line Research Center: The Value Line Research Center is a complete, online research destination that comprises all the financial information and analytical tools needed to expand your range of investment vehicles and structure a dynamic professional portfolio — all backed by Value Line’s world-class resources, decades of unquestioned authority, unbiased financial data reporting, astute analysis, and proven securities ranking systems. (Teaneck residents only)