Staff Picks

Need some help finding your next read? Check out what the Teaneck Library staff has been reading! From historical fiction and romance, to mysteries and young adult fiction, this month’s list of picks features something for everyone.

Click the book jackets or titles to check the item’s availability or to request it from another library.

January 2023 Staff Picks

Debbie’s Pick: A Duke in Time by Janna MacGregor

“After her husband Meri’s death, businesswoman Katherine Vareck discovers that he married two other women and develops a friendship with these women while developing strong feelings for Meri’s brother, the Duke of Ranford.” – Provided by the publisher.

Shinae’s Pick: Beasts of a Little Land by Juhea Kim

“An epic story of love, war, and redemption set against the backdrop of the Korean independence movement, following the intertwined fates of a young girl sold to a courtesan school and the penniless son of a hunter.” – Provided by the publisher.

Cara’s Pick: Heart Bones by Colleen Hoover

“Samson and Beyah have nothing in common on the surface. She comes from a life of poverty and neglect; he comes from a family of wealth and privilege. But one thing they do have in common is that they’re both drawn to sad things. With an almost immediate connection too intense for them to continue denying, Beyah and Samson agree to stay in the shallow end of a summer fling. What Beyah doesn’t realize is that a rip current is coming, and it’s about to drag her heart out to sea.” – Provided by the publisher.

Cara’s Pick: The House Across the Lake by Riley Sager

“The new thriller from New York Times bestselling author Riley Sager in which a recently fired Broadway star flees to a remote Vermont lake house, only to find out that the area has a history of missing women.” – Provided by the publisher.

Vi’s Pick: We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

“After leaving her life behind to go to college in New York, Marin must face the truth about the tragedy that happened in the final weeks of summer when her friend Mabel comes to visit.” – Provided by the publisher.

Vi’s Pick: Bad Weekend by Ed Brubaker & Sean Phillips

“Hal Crane has been around since practically the beginning of comics. Stuck at an out-of-town Comic-fest to receive a lifetime achievement award, Hal’s weekend takes us on a dark ride through the secret history of a medium that’s always been haunted by crooks, swindlers, and desperate dreamers.” – Provided by the publisher.

Weilee’s Pick: Trust by Hernan Diaz

“An award-winning writer of absorbing, sophisticated fiction delivers a stylish and propulsive novel rooted in early 20th century New York, about wealth and talent, trust and intimacy, truth and perception.” – Provided by the publisher.

Vi’s Pick: Season of Love by Helena Greer

“A witty, glittering rom-com about finding the courage to face your past and learning what it truly means to return home, perfect for fans of Jenny Bayliss and Alexandra Bellefleur.” – Provided by the publisher.

Amy’s Picks: A Snake Falls to Earth by Darcie Little Badger

“Oli is a cottonmouth kid, from the land of spirits and monsters. Like all cottonmouths, he’s been cast from home. He’s found a new one on the banks of the bottomless lake. Nina and Oli have no idea the other exists. But a catastrophic event on Earth, and a strange sickness that befalls Oli’s best friend, will drive their worlds together in ways they haven’t been in centuries. And there are some who will kill to keep them apart.” – Provided by the publisher.

Sujatha’s Pick: Living in the Light: Yoga for Self-Realization by Deepak Chopra & Sarah Platt-Finger

“So much practical wisdom on how to live a life with yoga and 50 plus yoga poses with benefits, therapeutic applications, and helpful tips.” – Sujatha’s review

Barbara’s Pick: The Cactus by Sarah Haywood

“A great winter read that’s big-hearted and has a lovely ending that ‘warms’ the heart! The Cactus is a contemporary romance and is populated by characters you just might miss at story’s end.” – Barbara’s review

Barbara’s Pick: The Last Bookshop in London by Madeline Martin

The Last Bookshop in London is a standout historical fiction novel that showcases how reading good books can bolster spirits and help the people of London keep ‘a stiff upper lip’ during the WWII devastating bombings.” – Barbara’s review

Ann’s Pick: The Personal Librarian by Marie Benedict & Victoria Christopher Murray

The Personal Librarian is a fascinating read! This book, written by Marie Benedict and Victoria Christopher Murray, tells the remarkable story of Belle da Costa Greene who made history as the personal librarian to financial magnate J. P. Morgan. She is credited with amassing and curating the renowned collection of literary and historical manuscripts, early printed books, old master drawings and prints which are now housed in the Morgan Library in Manhattan. A woman yielding such power and influence competing with other collectors, artists and wealthy patrons, all of whom were men, was revolutionary for the early twentieth century, all the more so because Belle had a secret: she was a black woman passing as white. Her father was, in fact, the first African-American to graduate from Harvard University. This book is an engrossing and eye-opening commentary about racism in our society.” – Ann’s review


For more book recommendations, try Novelist. NoveList is an electronic resource that provides book recommendations based on appeal factors, curated lists, and read-alikes for titles you enjoy. Find the “Recommended Reads Lists” located on the left side of the home page, or find read-alikes of books you’ve read and enjoyed by entering the title in the search box.